Providing legal information & services. Promoting respect for the law & the legal profession.

Law Day 2014 Awards

Please click on the name of the award below to submit a nomination for a deserving individual.  Submissions for all awards are due by April 16, 2014. 

Law Day Awards will be presented at the Law Day Luncheon on May 2, 2014 at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort and Conference Center.

 Lohman Award

Nominations are currently being sought for the 2014 Lohman Award- Excellence on Behalf of Children.  The recipient of this award should be an individual that has dedicated his or her talents, energy and time to improving the lives of children.  The recipient could be a person from any professional discipline or a volunteer who has contributed significantly to children’s welfare.   The criteria for this award include: 1) Significant Committee or Individual work; 2) Local or statewide efforts; 3) Legislative or Systemic; 4) Selfless Humanitarian; 5) Legal or Professional or Volunteer.  

 Mikki Kraushaar Award

The Mikki Kraushaar Award is presented to an outstanding member of our community in recognition of their support of our community’s senior citizens.  This award is presented by the Probate Section.   

 Portia Award

 The Portia Award is named for the clever heroine in Shakespeare’s Merchant of Venice who, disguised as a learned lawyer, defends in court and saves Antonio from the demand for a pound of his flesh. The award is given annually to a female lawyer who has given outstanding service to the community and Bar, has been active with professional organizations in the community, and has helped to advance the legal profession, especially for women lawyers.    

 Brian S. Gardner Outstanding Young Lawyer Award

The New Lawyers Section is accepting nominations for The Bryan S. Gardner Outstanding Young Lawyer Award. The recipient of this award should be an individual who has made significant contributions to the El Paso County Bar Association, the legal profession, and the community through his/her dedication, legal services and volunteer services. This award is presented by the New Lawyers Section.

 Liberty Bell Award

The Liberty Bell Award is presented to an individual who (1)has promoted a better understanding of our representative form of govt. (2) has promoted an awareness and understanding of the Bill of Rights (3)has encouraged a greater respect for law and the courts (4) has stimulated a deeper sense of individual responsibility to the end that citizens recognize their duties as well as their rights (5) has contributed to the effective functioning of our institutions of government (6) has furthered a better understanding and appreciation for the rule of law. 

 Ben S. Wendelken Award

The Ben S. Wendelken Award is presented by the Colorado Springs Buisness Journal.  Nominees and winners are selected by a committee of community leaders. 

Mock Trial Team Award

This award is presented to the winning team from the Southern Colorado Regional High School Mock Trial Competition.