The El Paso County Bar Association

Proudly Serving the Pikes Peak Region Since 1902

Law Day Awards 

Ben S. Wendelken Award

For an individual showing excellence in the legal field by showing "Competence, Compassion and the Ability to Get Things Done". The Ben S. Wendelken Award is the El Paso County Bar Association's highest annual award.

2018 Mayor John Suthers




Portia Award

Nomination Form 

Outstanding woman lawyer for services in the community. Portia is the heroine of Shakespeare's "The Merchant of Venice". In the play, Portia disguises herself as a man to assume the role of a lawyer's apprentice, whereby she saves the life of her true love's friend in court. 

The Mo Frederick Pro Bono Volunteer of the Year Award 

The Justice Center Pro Bono Firm of the Year 

Brian S. Gardner Award

Nomination Form 

Outstanding new lawyer who has made significant contributions to the EPCBA, the legal profession and the community through dedication, legal and volunteer services.

Lohman Award

Nomination Form

Excellence on behalf of children. The Lohman Award is presented to an individual that has dedicated their talents and time to improving the lives of children.

2018 - Wendy Hammack-Smith

2017 - Trudy Strewler Hodges

2016 - Debbie English

Mikki Kraushaar Award

Nomination Form

Outstanding individual on behalf of our community's senior citizens.

Liberty Bell Award

Nomination Form

Presented to an individual who has promoted an understanding of the law, promoted awareness of the Bill of Rights, encouraged greater respect for the law, stimulated a deeper sense of individual responsibility, contributed to the effectiveness of government institutions and furthered a better appreciation of the law. 

2018 - Sarah Lipka

2017 - Magistrate Jami Vigil










2007 - Jim Hustad

2006 - Joseph Ruffini

2005 - Dennis McKinney

2004 - Dottie Harman

2003 - Norm Thom

2002 Michael Vigil

2001 - Janet Kerr

2000 Pat Dean

1999 - Libby Pittman

1998 - Janet Buss

1997 - Tim O'Connor

1996 - Floyd Young

1995 - Bob DeMarce

1994 - Pat Ezell, Barby Schlabs

1993 - Terry Lynn Green


1992 - Pat & Marcia Murphy


1991 - Linda Kruse Lynch


1990 - Leslie Cook


1989 - Lyn Doyon


1988 - Thomas Crawford

1987 - Kathy Butterfield


1986 - Dennis Ritchie


1987 - Kathy Butterfield


1986 - Dennis Ritchie


1985 - Frances Taylor


1984 - Millicent E. Krushaar


1983 - James H. Smith Sr.


Sponsors & Partners  


El Paso County Bar Association is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization.

Colorado, P.O. Box 429, Colorado Springs, CO 80901-0429

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software